
History
Domaine de Migou started in 1850 when the estate came into the hands of the Bruel family, who built the farmhouse that still stands to this day. It was used as a farm to keep cows, pigs and geese. For crops, tobacco, garlic, grains and sunflowers were grown.
A generation later, the Bruel family expanded the Domaine into a horse breeding farm. The estate was slightly modified in the 1920s and 1930s. The Bruel couple had a preference for Italy and took these influences into account when renovating the house. You can also see this in the front entrance door (from the film The Godfather) but also in the central hall, built in a dome shape which was inspired by Italian influences.
Furthermore, the front garden of Domaine de Migou was converted into a beautiful park-like garden, featuring a water fountain which remains by the entrance, alongside a large, 400 year old yew tree. When Mrs. Bruel became too old to maintain the entire estate, she sold the Domain de Migou to a Dutch couple in 2000. They lived here for 20 years and converted the Tobacco Barn into a parrot nursery. In 2020, the estate came into the hands of a Dutch dentist, Guido van West, who is transforming the estate into a magical retreat venue.











